An Open Letter to Lisa McMann

Dear Ms. McMann,

Please stop writing books.

This is a very serious request. To this date, you have written and published two novels, Wake and Fade. Because of your books, I have on two occasions been compelled to read deep into the night, and in this manner I have lost two good nights of sleep. I can only conclude that any further books written by you will lead to long nights with the bedside lamp switched on, frantically reading. I will not have it! I must firmly request that you stop at once.

If you insist on continuing with your flagrant book-publishing, I have a few suggestions that may alleviate the problem.  Please take the following requests into account in any and all future books.

1. If there is one thing on which I really must insist, it is a general loosening-up of your writing style.  This tight, exciting prose will be the death of me!  If every sentence did not compel me to read the next, perhaps I would be able to put your books down long enough to get a few good hours of sleep.  Perhaps you could insert some clunky dialogue?

2. Your characters must – MUST – be less compelling.  In fact, it would be best if Janie and Cabel could be excised completely, and less interesting characters could be inserted in their place.  If I am forced back inside of Janie’s head, where I can see the fascination, terror and exhaustion that are caused by her ability to see other people’s dreams, I will most certainly not be able to put your book down.  And Cabel, with his terrible past and his willpower and determination to do good, both in his relationship with Janie and in his work,  is much too sympathetic a character.

3. In a related note, the tumultuous romance between Cabel and Janie is much too intense.  If you persist in writing about these characters, their relationship must be taken back a notch.  As it currently stands, their emotions are too strong!  Their sense of discovery of themselves and each other is too genuine!  Their frustrations with one another are too palpable!  Their sex is too sexy!

4. Slower pacing is a necessity in any future novels.  Constantly throwing your readers from horrific nightmare to sweet and sexy romance to exciting mystery causes agitation and suspense, forcing the reader to keep turning pages until the very end of the book.

Thank you for your time.  I look forward to not reading your books in the future.

Sleepily yours,

Laura Koenig

11 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Lisa McMann

  1. I agree with you, Janssen – Fade really built on Wake’s good foundation. But as you can probably tell, I was very into both!

  2. I read them back to back (I was quite lucky to have the ARC of Fade), and stayed up until 2:00 am finishing.

    Thanks for this. It’s the most entertaining review I’ve read in quite a while.

  3. Awesome post. I’m probably in the minority here, but I didn’t like Fade as much as Wake. I also had a hard time believing in Janie and Cable’s chemistry in both books. NONETHELESS, I read them both in one sitting and loved them both.

  4. I love hearing about how many people read these one right after the other. As for myself, I stayed up late one night reading
    Wake, and ran right out the next day to buy Fade.

  5. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: March 21, 2009 at Semicolon

  6. ha! love your open letter. i read WAKE last month and loved it. i got FADE this month but am waiting a bit before starting it. still savoring WAKE.

  7. Lauren and I have read the Wake series by you and we think they should be turned into movies because they are great books and we feel that they would be awesome movies. it really brought chills to us as we read it and we on edge every step of the way.

Leave a Reply

