48 Hour Book Challenge Wrap-Up

Total hours reading: 14.5

What I read:

  • Liar by Justine Larbalestier – Wow.  This was not what I expected it to be.  I think I loved it – but honestly, I’m still thinking about this one.  I’ll have more to say about it later.
  • Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson – Lonnie is such a delightful character, and it was a pleasure to re-visit him.  This is a big-hearted book.
  • Riot by Walter Dean Myers – Didn’t work for me.  Dialogue felt stilted, and I don’t understand why it’s in screenplay format.  I think you need a compelling reason to do that – otherwise it’s just a gimmick.
  • The Night Tourist by Katherine Marsh – I liked the mythological aspects.  But the “quest” hit on one of my pet peeves – a kid who stumbles onto something that is his “destiny” without really taking any active role in seeking the destiny or the quest.
  • The Geek Girl’s Guide to Cheerleading by Charity Tahmaseb and Darcy Vance – Still have about 1/3 of this one left to read.  It’s been cute so far.
3 thoughts on “48 Hour Book Challenge Wrap-Up

  1. Great job, I hope to see you participating again next year! I want to read Liar. It seems fun.

  2. Great reading! I also read Riot and had the same reaction, if not more negative. Liar was awesome and I almost chose it to re-read during the challenge.

    Thanks for playing!

Leave a Reply

